Cal Performances :: Music, Dance, Theater :: University of California Berkeley

Download our 2013/14 Season Calendar in iCal format
Early Music, The Polychoralchoral Splendors of Renaissance Florence, Davitt Moroney, conductor, His Majestys Sagbutts and Cornetts, Striggio's Missa sopra Ecco si beato giorno, works by Cavazzoni, Rossetto, and Striggio, February 3 & 4, 2012


Don't miss this exceptional program featuring both an encore performance of the sold-out, musical tour de force of the 2008 Berkeley Festival and the world premieres (at least since the 16th century!) of two other gigantic Renaissance works recently reconstructed by UC Berkeley musicologist and renowned harpsichordist Davitt Moroney. Written for the 16th-century Medici court and an example of Florentine art at its most spectacular, Alessandro Striggio's Missa sopra Ecco si beato giorno in 40 and 60 parts is the largest known contrapuntal choral work in Western music. The score was long reputed to be lost, but was then rediscovered in France by Moroney himself, who also here conducts the musical forces that include His Majestys Sagbutts and Cornetts and five different Bay Area choirs. "A masterpiece...not just the choral event of the year but possibly of the decade" (The Guardian, London).

Program: Cavazzoni: Intonazione for organ • Rossetto: Consolamini popule meus for 50 voices • Four instrumental canzonas • Anonymous: Unum cole deum, ne iures vana per eum, canon for 40 voices • Striggio: Motet Ecce beatam lucem for 40 voices; Missa sopra Ecco si beato giorno, for 40 and 60 voices

Related Events

Artist Talk
Fri, Feb 3, 5-6 pm
First Congregational Church
Davitt Moroney, renowned harpsichordist and UC Berkeley musicologist will talk about his discovery and recreation of Alessandro Striggio's Missa sopra Ecco si beato giorno in 40 and 60 parts. This Artist Talk is free and open to the public; tickets must be purchased for the associated performances.

Program Notes

Program notes are available online. [PDF]


Video Program Notes
Alessandro Striggio's Missa sopra Ecco sì beato giorno for 40 and 60 voices
One of the highlights of the 2008 Berkeley Festival & Exhibition was the American premiere of Alessandro Striggio's 16th-century long-lost work for 40 and 60 voices. Encore performances will be given February 3 & 4, 2012. Watch and listen to UC Berkeley musicologist and conductor Davitt Moroney as he discusses this work. (Length: 6:00)

Purchase Tickets

Fri, Feb 3, 8 pm
Sat, Feb 4, 8 pm
General Questions:

Ticket Office: 510.642.9988

Website Comments:

© Cal Performances, U.C. Regents, 1998 - 2014
UC Berkeley